Cinema 4D Bedroom

Fact:  The Disney World resort is about the same size as San Francisco.

Image

My major at Bradley University is Interactive Media with a concentration in Animation and Visual effects.  I’ve taken all of the classes that teach us how to use Adobe After Effects, Illustrator and Photoshop which are used to make 2D animations but just recently I learned how to use Cinema 4D.  

Cinema 4D is a 3D modeling and animation application that is capable of modeling, animating, lighting, texturing, and rendering.  In my IM 313 class, I modeled a bedroom with a bed and a few other pieces of furniture.  In the previous projects, I created simple objects such as chairs, toys and spoons.  I would say to this date, this would be my best portfolio piece because I created several 3D objects to complete a scene.

One part of the project that I’m proud of is the blanket on the bed because I learned how to make flat objects into a 3D piece of cloth.  This just takes a few simple steps to create but it is one of the more difficult objects to make in the frame.  I was also pleased by the modeled book and pen that sit on the side table.  Although they are some of the smallest objects in the entire piece, they are very complex.  I also added a poster because the wall seemed bare.  The image is from a sweater that I designed for my fraternity’s formal.

The hardest part of this project was making sure I had the lighting working correctly.  There were three main light sources; one from the lamp, the window and an area light.  After messing with the levels and shadows, I got a pretty nice render of what sunlight would look like coming from the window.  Overall, the render came out great and I’m proud of how it turned out.

One thought on “Cinema 4D Bedroom

  1. Pingback: Sky Sports sequences created using MAXON’s state-of-the-art modelling, rendering and animation software CINEMA 4D | No Standing

Leave a Reply

